Svadhisthana (Sacral Chakra)

Sacral chakraSvadhisthana (sacral chakra) is your creativity and pleasure center and is located above the pubic bone and below the navel, and encompasses the genital region. While the Root Chakra is satisfied with survival, the 2nd chakra seeks pleasure and enjoyment. The gift of this chakra is experiencing our lives through feelings and sensations. The second chakra is the center of feeling, emotion, pleasure, sensuality, intimacy, and connection.

It is part of the nature of all beings to create. This creativity can be expressed sexually as procreation but the second chakra energy is certainly not limited to making babies. When we craft, write, or garden, we are creating. We create when we find a new solution to an old problem. Any time we take raw materials, physical or mental, and transform them into something new, we are using our creative energy.

Our current societal structure begins tamping out our innate desire to create and revel in pleasure at a very young age. When you compile this with Western cultures complicated messages about sex and sexuality it is no wonder that many people find regular work necessary to achieve and maintain balance in Svadhisthana.

A overcharged Svadhisthana can present as exaggerated emotions that do not suit the situation at hand, being caught up in an illusion of self, being extremely ambitious and being overly indulgent.

A sluggish Svadhisthana can manifest as shy insecurity, being fearful of judgement, emotionally sensitive and carrying undue feelings of guilt (especially sexual guilt).

Some physical symptoms of imbalance are pain in the legs and groin, depression, mood swings, lower back pain, menstruation difficulties and painful urination.

Muladhara (Root Chakra)

root chakra

Muladhara (root or base chakra) is responsible for your sense of well being on this earthly journey. We must believe in our capability to survive this incarnation if we are to thrive in our professional, personal and spiritual lives.

The root chakra is located at the perineum, base of spine, coccygeal area. It corresponds with the adrenals (fight or flight survial instincts), legs, feet, bones and teeth of our physical form.

The energy of Muladhara allows us to harness courage, resourcefulness and the will to live during trying times. It connects us with spiritual energies of our ancestors, their challenges and their triumphs.

Since base chakra carries our ancestral memories, basically everyone experiences challenges or blockages within Muladhara. It is important though to balance the Root Chakra first, before we proceed to others, or we will lack the stability and rootedness necessary for true transformation and personal growth. We cannot grow and change unless we feel safe and secure.

A overcharged Muladhara can present as over attachment to belongs, sexuality that satisfies only physical desire, self-centered egotism, and over eating or binge use of drugs or alcohol.

A sluggish Muladhara can manifest as a sever lack of confidence, inability to take care of your basic needs, a fearful nature, shame associated with the body and sexuality, a low or non existent sex drive, and food control issues.

Some physical symptoms of imbalance are poor circulation, pain in lower back, dry skin and hair and constant constipation or diarrhea.

Check out some ways to balance your overcharged or sluggish Muladhara.

Essential oils and infused oils

What's the differnceEssential oils are all the rage these days but for many applications an infused oil will serve you better.

Essential oils are highly aromatic, volatile plant oils that are commonly used as fragrances, flavorings and in aromatherapy. These oils tend to evaporate or volatilize fairly easily at moderate temperatures.

Infused oils are made with low (or no) heat and a prolonged extraction designed to draw out the plant’s bioactive compounds. A fixed oil (like olive or grape seed) dissolves many of the same compounds that dissolve in pure alcohol and the resulting infused oil can represent a more complete extract of the plant.

The bottom line? Essential oils are best when you want to use only the volatile oil components otherwise use infused.

Understanding the Chakra System

chakra overviewLet’s define some of the key parts of the chakra system.

Prana – The sum total of all energy that is manifest in the universe

Nadis – Channels through which the energies of the subtle body flow.

Ida – The Nadis Associated with lunar energy and means “comfort” in Sanskrit. Idā has a moonlike nature and female energy with a cooling effect and controls mental processes.

Pingala – Associated with solar energy and means “tawny” in Sanskrit. Pingala has a sunlike nature and male energy with a heating  effect and controls the vital processes.

Sushumna  – This Nadis connects the base chakra directly to the crown chakra. The movements of Prana through the central canal makes the way for the ascent of Kundalini.

Kundalini – Kundalini is described as an indwelling spiritual energy that is awakened to purify the subtle system and bestow the state of Yoga, or Divine Union, upon the ‘seeker’ of truth “. The Upanishads describe Kundalini as lying “coiled” at the base of the spine, represented as sleeping serpent waiting to be awakened. In modern commentaries, Kundalini has been called an unconscious, instinctive or libidinal force.chakra trumpet

Chakras  – I will talk mostly about the 7 tantric chakras. Each of these energy centers is related to a different aspect of our physical, mental and spiritual being. They are shaped like trumpet flowers open to from and back and are constantly spinning.

ImbalanceThe chakra in question is overactive or underactive.

Over/under-active The overactive chakra creates excess while an underactive creates a deficit.

Opening and Closing – Making a chakra more or less available for energy transfer.